Gilbertsville-Mount Upton Central School Board of Education

Special Meeting

01 February 2022

D131/Zoom

Members present at the start of the meeting were President, Jeremy Pain, Vice-President Larry Smith, Whitney Talbot, Sarah Green and Sean Barrows.

Members Jed Barnes and Christopher Ostrander were absent.

Others present were Superintendent Annette Hammond, District Clerk Jarrin Hayen, District Treasurer Dorothy Iannello and Principal Heather Wilcox.

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 A.M. by President ORDER Pain.

No topics were raised from the floor.

PUBLIC COMMENT

The board discussed the following:
-Election Officials were approved at \$100/day which is less than minimum wage. The board is in consent to approve \$150/day.

BOARD DISCUSSION

The proposed 01 February 2022 Regular Consent Agenda was unanimously adopted on a motion by Smith, seconded by Talbot. For the motion five, opposed none. Motion carried.

AGENDA

Board Member Barrows made the motion, seconded by Board Member Green, RESOLVED: Upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, to accept/approve the 01 February 2022, Financial Consent Agenda. For the motion five, opposed none. Motion carried.

FINANCIAL CONSENT AGENDA

Amend Election Officials Stipend

To amend the stipend for Election Officials for the 2021-2022 school year, approved on July 01, 2021 from \$100/day to \$150/day, effective February 1, 2022.

Board Member Talbot made the motion, seconded by Board Member Green, RESOLVED: Upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, to accept/approve the 01 February 2022, Personnel Consent Agenda. For the motion five, opposed none. Motion carried.

PERSONNEL CONSENT AGENDA

Rescind Election Officials

To rescind the following appointment of election officials, approved on January 12, 2022:

<u>Section 1.</u> To approve the following election officials for the Special District Meeting/Bus Vote to be held on 01 February 2022 from Noon to 8:00 P.M.

Chief Election Inspector: Donald Clapp

Election Inspector: Sally Sadlocha

<u>Section 2.</u> Compensation of appointed election officials is set at \$100.00. The hours assigned include one-half hour orientation, which will be considered time worked, as will additional time spent counting votes after the polls close. <u>Section 3.</u> The District Clerk is authorized to fill any vacancies in these positions which may occur prior to the date of the vote.

<u>Section 4.</u> Duties of each position are as prescribed by Education Law and the District Clerk.

Section 5. The District Clerk is directed to inform each election official of their appointment, and to provide each election official with a copy of the appropriate list of duties and necessary instruction in their duties.

<u>Section 6.</u> All Election Inspectors/Clerks are asked to remain/return to count ballots, after the polls close.

Election Officials

<u>Section 1.</u> To approve the following election officials for the Special District Meeting/Bus Vote to be held on 01 February 2022 from Noon to 8:00 P.M.

Chief Election Inspector: Sallye Sadlocha Election Inspector: Jarrin Hayen (unpaid)

Section 2. Compensation of appointed election officials is set at \$150.00. The hours assigned include one-half hour orientation, which will be considered time worked, as will additional time spent counting votes after the polls close. Section 3. The District Clerk is authorized to fill any vacancies in these positions which may occur prior to the date of the vote.

<u>Section 4.</u> Duties of each position are as prescribed by Education Law and the District Clerk.

<u>Section 5.</u> The District Clerk is directed to inform each election official of their appointment, and to provide each election official with a copy of the appropriate list of duties and necessary instruction in their duties.

<u>Section 6.</u> All Election Inspectors/Clerks are asked to

<u>Section 6.</u> All Election Inspectors/Clerks are asked to remain/return to count ballots, after the polls close.

No topics raised from the floor.

The meeting adjourned at 7:33 a.m. on a motion by Barrows, seconded by Talbot, and passed unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT

ADJOURNMENT